There are no medicines or pills to take. Whether it is celiac disease, allergy or gluten sensitivity, the only effective approach is to totally avoid gluten. This is relatively easy to do at home but it can be more complex eating out. Gluten is obviously in products made from wheat flour like bread, pasta, pizza, pretzels, pies and cakes. At home it means getting rid of the obvious - white or whole wheat flour, pancake mix, cake and cookie mixes and many cereals like Wheaties. More difficult to recognize are pantry items that have gluten lurking in them that might surprise you. Cheerios and Corn Flakes include wheat flour. Soy sauce usually is made of both soy and wheat although wheat-free soy sauce is available. Worcestershire sauce is a problematic item; some brands are gluten-free while others are not. Malt vinegar is made from barley and so is not gluten-free; white vinegar may be not be gluten free whereas balsamic and apple cider vinegar are usually safe. Beer is brewed from wheat and barley. Hard liquors are often made from wheat but are distilled and so are generally gluten free. Seasonings can be a complex problem; some seasonings may use wheat to stabilize the spice or herbs in it.
If you follow the basic very healthy Mediterranean style diet you can reasonably easily remain gluten free. The Mediterranean diet is fundamentally one based on a fresh vegetables, simply cooked, multiple fruits, legumes such as beans and lentils and modest size quantities of meat, poultry or fish plus olive oil along with nuts and seeds and wine in moderation.
It's easy to prepare food from scratch but in our society we don't tend to do that anymore. Most foods come processed and pre-packaged; often those forms are adulterated with substances that include gluten. That's why the label reading is very important. But far better to start with fresh ingredients from the produce, meat and fish sections and prepare them in a way that doesn’t use gluten.
Eating in a restaurant is more of a challenge. There you're not in control of the ingredients used. As for everyone, ordering meals based on fresh prepared vegetables and fruits along with high quality meats, poultry and fish is best. Then the question is whether the chef used any added gluten-containing ingredient such as in the seasoning or marinade. Gravies are often thickened with flour as are many soups. Eggs of course are gluten-free so you might expect that an omelet will be gluten-free even if you add veggies such as spinach, tomatoes and perhaps some cheese. But it may not be. Why? It's because some of the commercial prepackaged omelet mixes include a bit of pancake batter to make the omelet a bit smoother and fluffier. Something you would probably never guess. But if you are gluten sensitive, your GI tract will figure it out a short while later with disturbing symptoms.
Here is the bottom line. For a sizable portion of the population, gluten is a toxic substance. Celiac disease is very serious. Gluten allergy although uncommon can be devastating. Gluten sensitivity, while not life threatening, can be very life altering in a most negative way. Unfortunately because the symptoms of celiac or sensitivity are not necessarily GI related, the diagnosis is often elusive. For those with gluten-related disease the only treatment is preventative – completely avoid gluten.